ANNUAL COUNCIL

Thursday, 25 May 2023

PRESENT – The Mayor, Councillors Ali, Allen, Anderson, Baker, Bartch, Beckett, Coe, Cossins, Crudass, Crumbie, Mrs Culley, Curry, Dillon, Donoghue, Dulston, Durham, Garner, Harker, Haszeldine, Henderson, Holroyd, Johnson, Kane, Keir, Laing, Lawley, Layton, Lee, Mahmud, Mammolotti, Marshall, McCollom, McEwan, McGill, M Nicholson, K Nicholson, Pease, Porter, Ray, Renton, Dr. Riley, Robinson, Roche, Mrs H Scott, Snedker, Storr, Toms, Tostevin, Wallis and Walters.

1 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST.

There were no declarations of interest reported at the meeting.

2 TO ELECT A MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2023/24

Consideration was given to the election of a Mayor for the Municipal Year 2022/23.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Jan Cossins be elected Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

Following her election, the Mayor made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and :-

- (i) Was invested with the Chain of Office;
- (ii) Tendered her thanks to the Members of the Council for having elected her;
- (iii) Announced her decision to support ManHealth and The Listening Post; and
- (iv) Announced that her Mayoress for the Mayoral Year would be her daughter, Ms. Ellie Cossins.

3 RETIRING MAYOR - VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks was proposed to the Retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

RESOLVED – That the cordial thanks of the Council are due, and hereby tendered, to Councillor Anne-Marie Curry and Charlotte Curry for the exemplary manner in which they have discharged the duties of the high office of Mayor and Mayoress of this Borough during the past Municipal Year.

4 TO APPOINT A DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2023/24

Consideration was given to the appointment of a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

RESOLVED – That Councillor Donoghue be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

5 TO RECEIVE A RETURN OF COUNCILLORS ELECTED ON 4TH MAY 2023

- Received – A schedule (previously circulated) of the Returning Officer that the undermentioned persons had been elected Members of the Council and had made and subscribed their Declarations of Acceptance of Office, namely:-

WARD NAME

BANK TOP AND LASCELLES Andrew Anderson

Helen Crumbie

David Ray

BRINKBURN AND FAVERDALE Rebecca Baker

David Beckett Scott

Durham

COCKERTON Jan Cossins

Jim Garner Neil Johnson

COLLEGE Bryony Holroyd PhD

Matthew Snedker

EASTBOURNE Joe Dillon

Jonathan Dulston

Kevin Nicholson

HARROWGATE HILL Roz Henderson

Richard Lawley

Anna-Maria Toms

HAUGHTON AND SPRINGFIELD Chris McEwan

Dawn Storr

Nick Wallis

HEIGHINGTON AND CONISCLIFFE Paul Crudass

Gerald Lee

HUMMERSKNOTT Kate Mammolotti

Thomas Robinson

HURWORTH Lorraine Tostevin

Paul Walters

MOWDEN Pauline Culley

Alan Marshall

NORTH ROAD Hilary Allen

James Coe

Anne-Marie Curry

NORTHGATE Sajna Ali

Sonia Kane

PARK EAST Libby McCollom

Michael Nicholson

Matthew Roche

PARK WEST Bob Donoghue

Heather Scott

PIERREMONT Steve Harker

Mary Layton

James McGill

RED HALL AND LINGFIELD Mandy Porter

Dr. Amanda Riley

SADBERGE AND MIDDLETON ST. GEORGE Deborah Laing

Colin Pease Yvonne Renton

STEPHENSON Ian Haszeldine

Mohammad Mahmud

WHINFIELD Jamie Bartch, BA, MA

Andy Keir

NOTE: The Mayor informed Members that newly-elected Members were required to draw lots to determine their Order of Seniority on the Council, and a draw was subsequently held. The Order of Seniority for official purposes was listed as follows:

Position Councillor

- 1. Mrs. Scott
- 2. Wallis
- 3. Harker
- 4. Haszeldine
- 5. McEwan
- 6. Lee
- 7. Curry
- 8. Cossins
- 9. Crudass
- 10. Kane
- 11. Donoghue
- 12. Crumbie
- 13. Mrs. Culley

- 14. Tostevin
- 15. K. Nicholson
- 16. M. Nicholson
- 17. Marshall
- 18. Holroyd
- 19. Ali
- 20. Snedker
- 21. Dulston
- 22. Allen
- 23. Laing
- 24. Bartch
- 25. Layton
- 26. Keir
- 27. McCollom
- 28. Durham
- 29. Storr
- 30. Anderson
- 31. McGill
- 32. Robinson
- 33. Roche
- 34. Garner
- 35. Johnson
- 36. Renton
- 37. Lawley
- 38. Ray
- 39. Beckett
- 40. Pease
- 41. Mammolotti
- 42. Porter
- 43. Dillon
- 44. Walters
- 45. Henderson
- 46. Dr. Riley
- 47. Baker
- 48. Mahmud
- 49. Coe
- 50. Toms

THE MAYOR OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE TO MAKE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS THAT MAY BE NECESSARY.

There were no announcements reported at the meeting.

7 TO APPOINT THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR A FOUR YEAR TERM OF OFFICE.

Consideration was given to the appointment of a new Leader of the Council for a Four Year Term of Office.

Councillor McEwan moved that Councillor Harker be appointed as the Leader of the Council

for a Four Year Term of Office, which was duly seconded.

At the request of five Members, a Named Vote was taken of those present at the meeting and there appeared:

For the Motion: The Mayor; Councillors Ali, Allen, Anderson, Baker, Beckett, Coe, Crumbie, Curry, Dillon, Garner, Harker, Haszeldine, Johnson, Kane, Layton, Mahmud, McCollom, McEwan, McGill, M. Nicholson, Porter, Ray, Dr. Riley, Roche, Storr and Wallis (27)

Against the Motion: Councillors Bartch, Crudass, Mrs. Culley, Donoghue, Dulston, Durham, Henderson, Holroyd, Keir, Laing, Lawley, Lee, Mammolotti, Marshall, K. Nicholson, Pease, Renton, Robinson, Mrs. Scott, Snedker, Toms, Tostevin and Walters (23)

RESOLVED – That Councillor Harker be appointed as the Leader of the Council for a Four Year Term of Office

8 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2023/24

The Group Director of Operations submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to the membership of the various Committees for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

RESOLVED – (a) That the appointment of Members to the various Committees, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be approved.

(b) That any consequential changes be made to the Council's Constitution.

REASON – To comply with the nominations received.

9 REPRESENTATION ON OTHER BODIES 2023/24

The Group Director of Operations submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to representation on other bodies for the Municipal Year 2023/24.

RESOLVED – That the nominations to the other bodies, as detailed in paragraph 6 of the submitted report, be approved.

REASON – To comply with the nominations received from the Political Groups.

10 TO APPROVE A PROGRAMME OF ORDINARY MEETINGS OF THE COUNCIL FOR THE 2023/24 MUNICIPAL YEAR

Submitted – A programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council for the 2023/24 Municipal Year.

RESOLVED – That the programme of ordinary meetings be approved.